Pin on Pinterest

On April 14th, Hebron High Schools Theatre Department made school history by advancing to the UIL 6A State One Act Play Contest.  The competition was held at the Round Rock ISD Performing Arts Center.  Eight schools performed with Hebron claiming the title of State Second Runner-Up, 3rd Place of the 294 6A schools in Texas that began competing in late February.  Their performance of scenes from “Elizabeth Rex” by Timothy Finley was outstanding. The group had previously advanced from difficult Zone, District, Bi-District, Area and Region Contests.  At the State Contest, Brooke Loye won All Star Cast for her portrayal of Queen Elizabeth I.  AJ Abdullah won Honorable Mention All Star Cast for his performance of Ned

Hebron’s four directors and 24 students put in many long hours to make the production a huge success!  Rehearsals for the show began in late January.  The road to state began with the Zone Contest on March 7th.  Next, Hebron won the District 5-6A Championship at the District Contest on March 21st.  On March 25th, Hebron claimed the title of Bi-District Champions for Districts 5 and 6 6A and advanced to the Area Contest on April 1st where they once again advanced.  On April 7th, Hebron traveled to UT-Arlington for the 6A Region 1 Contest where they were awarded the Region Championship, 1st of 73 6A schools in the West Texas and DFW Areas.  This achievement led them to Round Rock along with John H. Guyer High School from Denton to represent Region 1 at the UIL One Act Play State Contest.

Members of the award winning company from Hebron include: Sean Geddie, AJ Abdullah, Bailey Ray, Mihir Lulay, Rayan Moosa, Spencer Kahn, Dalton Currey, Caleb Geddie, Samantha Droste, Brooke Loye, Gabbie David, Ryan Hamilton, Joseph Hoffman, Amanda Bonds, Caitlin Kresta, Emily Deen, Jason Bowden, Ferndando Krasovsky, Shelby Allen, Johnson Phan, Taylor Himes, Zoe Rech, Tiffany Dang and Destinee Hughes.

Many thanks to the Hebron Theatre Directors: Ryan Heitzman, Cory Broom, Elizabeth Shurr and Andrea Throop for their dedication and perseverance!